Firewalls

Have you tried turning it off and on again?

Which to use?

Windows!
16
76%
Zonealarm!
5
24%
 
Total votes : 21

User avatar
Trowa
 
Posts: 1411
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: Nottingham

Firewalls

Postby Trowa » Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:54 am

Well. Ive just formatted and got things back up. I was wondering, do you guys think I should just hold up with Windows firewall and not use Zonealarm like before ( I think it was the cuase of many net related probs) or use one of the other? Im behind a router and on a 7 PC network.

I also use Norton Antivirus

Stormbringer
 

Postby Stormbringer » Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:11 pm

Neither - get a router with hardware firewall 8)

User avatar
Trowa
 
Posts: 1411
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: Nottingham

Postby Trowa » Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:33 pm

This one has a hardware one, is just it still lets things through, and my dad is only one with access cos he changed it from the default manufactors PW and user name. And he wont open/close ports or change ANYTHING!!!!

Guest
 

Postby Guest » Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:30 pm

A decent hardware firewall like the Netgear or DLink range of routers would actually stealth the ports and block all incoming access unless there was an explicit rule OR a matching outgoing request.

If your router doesn't do that then either set it up right or get a new one/update the firmware.

User avatar
Tichinde
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 2:30 pm
Location: No longer a WoW player

Postby Tichinde » Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:33 pm

Router firewall and SP2 firewall for me.
Router stops everything incoming I don't want and I use Sp2 to stop outgoings i don't want
eVoL wrote:Tichinde - Like the technical version of (a slightly geekier) the fonz.

Heeeeeeeey
:D


"Religion, shit it" - Stephen Fry

User avatar
Feet
 
Posts: 15302
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 7:55 am
Location: Socks

Postby Feet » Mon Feb 07, 2005 2:04 pm

I use Sygate, it seems to do the job ok.
I still love you.

User avatar
Me
He's so not aard
 
Posts: 17744
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 9:36 pm
Location: Yonder

Postby Me » Mon Feb 07, 2005 2:18 pm

Feet wrote:I use Sygate, it seems to do the job ok.

Me also

Suburban Rhythm
 
Posts: 3638
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 4:53 pm
Location: The end of the longest line

Postby Suburban Rhythm » Mon Feb 07, 2005 3:15 pm

I use Sygate as well, used to use Zonealarm until it started regularly crashing my machine after one of the last updates :x .

User avatar
Lee
 
Posts: 13224
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 8:36 pm

Postby Lee » Mon Feb 07, 2005 3:18 pm

Aye theve fixed it now and I`m using it :)
Formerly MrAnnoyed

Akky
 
Posts: 8748
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 2:30 pm

Postby Akky » Mon Feb 07, 2005 3:59 pm

Kerio ftw!

User avatar
Dr@gon-UK
Forum Fossil
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 7:08 am
Location: Circling The Drain

Postby Dr@gon-UK » Mon Feb 07, 2005 4:59 pm

Never had any problems with Norton. 8)
Terry Pratchett wrote:Humans would do anything to see if it was possible. If you put a large switch in a cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying 'End-of-the-World Switch. PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH', the paint wouldn't even have time to dry.

User avatar
Gunner
 
Posts: 6429
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 1:22 pm
Location: National Portrait Gallery... Being Hypnotised

Postby Gunner » Mon Feb 07, 2005 5:01 pm

Annihilator3k wrote:Kerio ftw!


Agreed!

although now i have a hardware firewall, so the windows one is fine.
"All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become."
-Buddha

User avatar
Trowa
 
Posts: 1411
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: Nottingham

Postby Trowa » Mon Feb 07, 2005 5:23 pm

Ive been told that "your fingers will be broken" if I touch the router :cry:

User avatar
Ross
 
Posts: 7502
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 7:58 pm

Postby Ross » Mon Feb 07, 2005 6:22 pm

Netgear SPI True firewall and Norton internet security. I wouldn't reccomend windows firewall as is could probably be turned off through another hole in windows. With a third party firewall this wont happen.

b0wser
 
Posts: 1610
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: The Game

Postby b0wser » Mon Feb 07, 2005 6:23 pm

Trowa wrote:Ive been told that "your fingers will be broken" if I touch the router :cry:

Use the XP Service Pack 2 firewall then.
www.primehosting.co.uk is rather good.

Next

Return to Technology & Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest