Graphics card not outputting any image

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Edam
 
Posts: 16030
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 4:53 pm
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Edam » Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:56 pm

No idea what's going on here. It's an Radeon 6950.

Problem doesn't lie with the monitor or cables, they've been eliminated as potential problem candidates.

Computer is definitely starting up ok as I hear the Windows chime once it's booted

No BIOS beep codes.

The little LED on the graphics card does turn on.

Fans turn on (but don't do the short 1 second full blast which they normally would, so that's definitely abnormal)

I've tried reseating the graphics card and resecured all cables and connections. I've tried all outputs on the back (i.e. both DVI connections. There's display port also but I have no cables for this)

I've reset the CMOS also.

At this point, I'm out of diagnositc tests and my abilities have now been extinguished. Any ideas of further tests to try or possible cause/solutions?

User avatar
katarn
 
Posts: 8567
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:44 pm

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby katarn » Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:58 pm

Is it still under warranty?

User avatar
eVoL
 
Posts: 31944
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Jettisoned through that hairy wormhole.

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby eVoL » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:07 pm

Sniff it for burningness?
Wouldst thou like to live deliciously?

User avatar
Quietman
 
Posts: 22022
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 5:17 pm
Location: Mega Tokyo

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Quietman » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:35 pm

Tried the card in another machine/another card in your machine?
IMO :P :wink: :P :wink: :P :wink:
Dean Learner: I said the fuck you don't do wet wipes.

Oranje Head
Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2lS22 ... qTMqfvJ4xQ
Twitch - https://www.twitch.tv/oranjehead

User avatar
Tichinde
 
Posts: 4647
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 2:30 pm
Location: No longer a WoW player

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Tichinde » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:35 pm

Pop it in a friends PC to test?
Pop their card in your PC to test?
eVoL wrote:Tichinde - Like the technical version of (a slightly geekier) the fonz.

Heeeeeeeey
:D


"Religion, shit it" - Stephen Fry

User avatar
Sly Boots
MILF
 
Posts: 12567
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:53 pm

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Sly Boots » Tue Sep 11, 2012 5:34 pm

Swap it for an Nvidia?
My face is tired.

User avatar
Eny
 
Posts: 14563
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2003 6:49 pm
Location: Liminality

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Eny » Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:22 pm

Aye, an NVidia would be so ashamed if it black screened that it would re-order a replacement itself, free of charge.
Everything on the internet is 100% true.

– Abraham Lincoln


˙ƃuıʇıɹʍ ʎuıʇ ʎllɐǝɹ uʍop ǝpısdn

Edam
 
Posts: 16030
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 4:53 pm
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Edam » Wed Sep 12, 2012 7:11 am

Hmm, I'll try my old X1900 which, I'm pretty sure, is shagged anyway >.<

Can't try this card in another machine though because it's far too big :p

It is within warranty, but that'd be after giving up all hope. What're overclockers like with these things? Bought it about 10 months ago. How susceptible are they to actually recognising consumer rights and the Sale of Goods Act? Even if I shove the law in their face, are they still going to fob me off to the manufacturer, which is going to cost me in postage?

Edam
 
Posts: 16030
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 4:53 pm
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Edam » Wed Sep 12, 2012 7:12 am

Also, no burning smell. I guess I subconsciously ran that test and gave it an all clear :p (i.e. never notice anything when looking at it and sticking my head in the case to have a look around)

User avatar
brightroar
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:44 pm
Location: Midsomer

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby brightroar » Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:09 pm

I find a blood sacrifice is usually enough to get these things going. Try and accidentally nick your finger on a sharp bit of the case.

User avatar
Gibby
 
Posts: 17250
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 7:06 pm
Location: Lincoln

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Gibby » Wed Sep 12, 2012 7:58 pm

Overclockers are wankers. They'll test it and if they find no faults with it they'll bill you £25 and send it back. So make sure it is fucked before you send them it. Borrow a mate's PC to test the card away from yours.

Edam
 
Posts: 16030
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 4:53 pm
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Edam » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:04 pm

Ok, I still maintain computers have a mind of their own and don't work in any way, shape or form based on logic....


Tried my old graphics card in the computer, and it worked fine. So I'm thinking oh shit, the new ones busted let's return it. So I put the new one back in and....lo-and-behold, it works!

I can't understand why. I'd already tested every connection and reseated it a number of times so it can't be a loose wire/reseating problem. It's just pure nonsense.

Oh well, at least it works.

User avatar
katarn
 
Posts: 8567
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:44 pm

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby katarn » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:32 pm

Perhaps switching the cards cleared some kind of OS/output chip on the mobo that was locked into a certain mode. I've heard of similarish things on motherboards before, but don't know enough about the techy aspects to explain it.

Edam
 
Posts: 16030
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 4:53 pm
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Edam » Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:05 pm

I suspected something along those lines but can't quite explain how that'd work. But, either way, it's fixed at least!

User avatar
Snowy
Metal as Fuck
 
Posts: 9911
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Ballhang

Re: Graphics card not outputting any image

Postby Snowy » Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:19 pm

Ah well look on the bright side, you have just avoided hassle and/or expense.
Image
RCHD wrote:Snowy is my favourite. He's a metal God.

Next

Return to Technology & Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron