Apple ][

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
User avatar
Adam
 
Posts: 27658
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 7:27 pm
Location: Tottenham

Postby Adam » Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:19 am

Yep. I don't have a mouse anymore, just have no need for it. Trackpad is much more intuitive.
www.thelineofbestfit.com

p.s. - I am wanking as I write this

Liam
 
Posts: 9918
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 3:19 am

Postby Liam » Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:40 am

Don't be silly.

JonB
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:11 pm

Postby JonB » Mon Apr 11, 2011 1:47 pm

Nah it's pretty bloody good for general desktop use.

Certainly wouldn't use it for gaming though.

Do they work with Windows 7?

User avatar
Raid
Duke of Preys-World
 
Posts: 25153
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 5:48 pm
Location: Ding!

Postby Raid » Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:33 pm

I've been tempted; I adore the trackpad on my MBP. If I ever do upgrade to a new iMac, I'll get one to go with it.

User avatar
Adam
 
Posts: 27658
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 7:27 pm
Location: Tottenham

Postby Adam » Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:24 am

JonB wrote:Nah it's pretty bloody good for general desktop use.

Certainly wouldn't use it for gaming though.

Do they work with Windows 7?


I don't game though, apart from Football Manager, which it's much better for. I'd speculate it's probably better for pointy-clicky stuff like BG and RTS games as well, though I've not tried it.


Liam - I'm constantly using trackpad gestures to navigate the net, use expose to switch programmes, all sorts. I was so used to it on my MPB that when I started using it on my desktop I just couldn't get used to a mouse again, felt really limited.
www.thelineofbestfit.com

p.s. - I am wanking as I write this

User avatar
Wizard Of Odd
 
Posts: 6499
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:54 pm
Location: Redditch, UK.

Postby Wizard Of Odd » Fri Apr 15, 2011 2:47 pm

If there is one thing that's really pissing me off about the iPhone 4, or more specifically actually the Firmware 4.x it's that you can now play hardly any games with your own music/podcast in the background. On my iPod Touch running 3.x, nines times in ten your own audio would continue playing once you'd loaded the game and if not you could double click the home button and resume playing as the iPod controls came on screen. On 4.1 I've only found two of my games still work with my own music! It's shit! The music cuts out when the game loads and double clicking the home button to bring up the iPod controls only gives you greyed out buttons which you can't press to play your music. This is a huge disappointment considering I always used to listen to my podcasts in bed playing games before going to sleep.

:x

User avatar
Adam
 
Posts: 27658
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 7:27 pm
Location: Tottenham

Postby Adam » Fri Apr 15, 2011 3:19 pm

That is shit. Sure there's no workaround for that?
www.thelineofbestfit.com

p.s. - I am wanking as I write this

JonB
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:11 pm

Postby JonB » Fri Apr 15, 2011 8:13 pm

Absolute fail. Bought an SSD ahead of time, for my soon to be purchased MBP.

Thought I would put it in my white macbook (4 years old) to tide me over and give it a bit of a speed boost while I wait.

Fucking thing wouldn't fit. To top it off when I put all the old stuff in I got the flashing folder of death and it wouldn't boot.

(Will have to go back in and reseat everything, but really can't be arsed.)

User avatar
Trowa
 
Posts: 1411
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: Nottingham

Postby Trowa » Fri Apr 15, 2011 8:45 pm

Thar be unlucky, which SSD did you get?

User avatar
Wizard Of Odd
 
Posts: 6499
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:54 pm
Location: Redditch, UK.

Postby Wizard Of Odd » Fri Apr 15, 2011 8:55 pm

Adam wrote:That is shit. Sure there's no workaround for that?


None that I've found.

JonB
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:11 pm

Postby JonB » Fri Apr 15, 2011 8:56 pm

OCZ Vertex 2E 120gb.

It's about 0.5mm too wide. Didn't want to force it.

I've read about people putting them in the unibody's so should be ok. (I hope, otherwise my desktop is getting nice little upgrade.)

User avatar
Trowa
 
Posts: 1411
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: Nottingham

Postby Trowa » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:00 pm

Thats a nice drive, but it will be a downgrade from a standard MBP's HD. They are minimum 320GB now. Are you going to to have it has a primary and move the original to the DVD bay for storage?

JonB
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:11 pm

Postby JonB » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:06 pm

Oh I know. The size doesn't bother me, it's all about the speed. (I have about 15gb free on my 80gb MacBook drive.)

I'm tempted to put the 500gb drive it comes with in the DVD bay, but maybe once Lion is out. (Hopefully it will come on a USB stick)

For the time being I won't be keeping any media on this thing at all, save for a couple of movies or TV shows while travelling. It's mainly for work and the odd game while in the hotel.

User avatar
Trowa
 
Posts: 1411
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: Nottingham

Postby Trowa » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:13 pm

Sounds like a good plan, good options for the future too

JonB
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:11 pm

Postby JonB » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:54 pm

One other side-advantage of an SSD is improved battery life too. They draw hardly any power.

PreviousNext

Return to Technology & Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron