ATi Hardware/Drivers Thread

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
JohnyHumf
 
Posts: 16033
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:48 pm
Location: Going OUT OF MY VULCAN MIND

Postby JohnyHumf » Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:35 am

Do you rip every trace of old drivers out before installing new ones or just pile them on top of one another?

User avatar
Me
He's so not aard
 
Posts: 17710
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 9:36 pm
Location: Yonder

Postby Me » Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:49 am

People say you should. But bollocks to that, I always stick them over the top without issue.

User avatar
[Prey]
 
Posts: 12775
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:22 pm

Postby [Prey] » Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:42 am

Yep just let the ATi installer do all the work for you basically, then reboot and the job's a good one.

After the reather disappointing 9.1 and 9.2 sets these have more than made up for it. Nice one ATi.

User avatar
katarn
 
Posts: 8690
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:44 pm

Postby katarn » Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:25 pm

I'll download this for my HD4850. Seriously impressed with this card.

User avatar
[Prey]
 
Posts: 12775
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:22 pm

Postby [Prey] » Thu Mar 19, 2009 5:42 pm

First Radeon HD 4890 shots and info:

The first images of ATI's Radeon 4890 GPU have surfaced on Expreview. On the surface the card looks similar to the existing Radeon 4870, as ATI has apparently elected to use the same cooler, although presumably additional power circuitry has been added to handle the higher clocks. Although it doesn't recognize the card's 256-bit memory interface, GPU-Z confirms the clock speeds we listed yesterday: 850MHz core/975MHz memory (3.9GHz effective), an improvement of 12% over the 4870 GPU, and 8% for the memory.

The card is expected to debut sometime next month.


http://en.expreview.com/2009/03/18/upda ... #more-2740

User avatar
Dr@gon-UK
Forum Fossil
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 7:08 am
Location: Circling The Drain

Postby Dr@gon-UK » Thu Mar 19, 2009 5:52 pm

Can't wait, hopefully this'll be followed by a price drop for the lesser cards & I can pick up a HD4870 1Gb for less than the £180-200 it's currently at.
Terry Pratchett wrote:Humans would do anything to see if it was possible. If you put a large switch in a cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying 'End-of-the-World Switch. PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH', the paint wouldn't even have time to dry.

User avatar
Nethlyn
 
Posts: 13655
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:44 pm
Location: 2072; still installing Windows 10

Postby Nethlyn » Fri Apr 10, 2009 3:22 pm

A mate of mine with a X1900XTX wanted to know which was the optimal Vista driver that still works with modern games? Thanks...
Youtube Channel Currently Offline https://www.youtube.com/ channel/ UCImKjJptbRwGw0nHMykzeqg
Blog: http://kensmoviereview.wordpress.com

User avatar
Dr@gon-UK
Forum Fossil
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 7:08 am
Location: Circling The Drain

Postby Dr@gon-UK » Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:06 pm

Catalyst 9.4 WHQL are out from the usual places.
Terry Pratchett wrote:Humans would do anything to see if it was possible. If you put a large switch in a cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying 'End-of-the-World Switch. PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH', the paint wouldn't even have time to dry.

Jelly
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 1:33 pm

Postby Jelly » Fri Apr 10, 2009 6:42 pm

If you're using the Windows 7 Beta, the 9.4 drivers may not install, despite what Catalyst Install Manager tells you. If the screen does not flicker and change resolution during the installation, this suggests that the drivers have not been updated.

A workaround is detailed here: http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview. ... did=111707

User avatar
[Prey]
 
Posts: 12775
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:22 pm

Postby [Prey] » Thu May 21, 2009 1:57 pm


User avatar
[Prey]
 
Posts: 12775
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:22 pm

Postby [Prey] » Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:48 pm

And the 9.6 set have already made their way on to megaupload...

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=297518

User avatar
Dr@gon-UK
Forum Fossil
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 7:08 am
Location: Circling The Drain

Postby Dr@gon-UK » Mon Jun 15, 2009 5:39 pm

Catalyst 9.6 WHQL Out on the official site if you want individual components

http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx

Performance Improvements

Catalystâ„¢ 9.6 brings performance benefits in several cases where framerates are CPU-limited. Some measured examples are:

Company of Heroes – performance improves up to 25% with HD 4600 series
products and below as well as improvements of up to 10% on HD 4800 series
Crysis – performance improves up to 13% in multi-GPU configurations
Crysis Warhead – performance improves up to 11% in multi-GPU configurations
World in Conflict – performance improvements of up to 30% can be seen in settings that were previously CPU limited


Release notes - http://www2.ati.com/relnotes/Catalyst_96_release_notes.pdf
Terry Pratchett wrote:Humans would do anything to see if it was possible. If you put a large switch in a cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying 'End-of-the-World Switch. PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH', the paint wouldn't even have time to dry.

User avatar
[Prey]
 
Posts: 12775
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:22 pm

Postby [Prey] » Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 pm

The none WHQL version of these drivers still saw a marked improvement in games such as Far Cry 2 and Left 4 Dead for me. So definitely getting these too. Cheers Dad! -_-

User avatar
Dr@gon-UK
Forum Fossil
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 7:08 am
Location: Circling The Drain

Postby Dr@gon-UK » Tue Jun 16, 2009 7:18 am

Cheeky young whippersnapper.
And stop nicking my Werthers. :P
Terry Pratchett wrote:Humans would do anything to see if it was possible. If you put a large switch in a cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying 'End-of-the-World Switch. PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH', the paint wouldn't even have time to dry.

User avatar
Nethlyn
 
Posts: 13655
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:44 pm
Location: 2072; still installing Windows 10

Postby Nethlyn » Fri Jun 26, 2009 1:41 pm

Can I have the last word on forcing my hardware to give me 100Hz in Vista, or won't it happen?

I'm dual booting, in XP I can have 100Hz, latest Cat 9.6 driver only.

In Vista, Cat 9.6 driver only again, it's still holding me down to 85Hz and software is the sole difference. Can I use the Catalyst Control Centre to force the higher mode or do I need some 3rd party Radeon tweaker?

Thanks in advance...
Youtube Channel Currently Offline https://www.youtube.com/ channel/ UCImKjJptbRwGw0nHMykzeqg
Blog: http://kensmoviereview.wordpress.com

PreviousNext

Return to Technology & Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron