Hey, remember "lights on, fans spin, no boot"?!

Have you tried turning it off and on again?

Top of Range Athlon XP (3200+) or entry level Sckt939 A64?

Athlon XP 3200+
2
7%
Athlon 64 s939, prob 3000+
28
93%
 
Total votes : 30

User avatar
Nethlyn
 
Posts: 13691
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:44 pm
Location: 2072; still installing Windows 10

Hey, remember "lights on, fans spin, no boot"?!

Postby Nethlyn » Wed Mar 09, 2005 10:20 pm

As you saw in the other thread, I bought my power supply, which I fitted yesterday - didn't solve my crashouts so it's the motherboard, forcing an upgrade. It was an Epox KT266A which died off, so the choice is the 3200+ which is finally under
Last edited by Nethlyn on Mon Apr 18, 2005 5:40 pm, edited 11 times in total.

User avatar
Ashlander
 
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 3:26 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland

Postby Ashlander » Wed Mar 09, 2005 10:34 pm

Where abouts are you looking to buy the Athlon XP 3200+ as thats what im wanting?

Stormbringer
 

Postby Stormbringer » Wed Mar 09, 2005 10:47 pm

You know what I voted for...

User avatar
Nethlyn
 
Posts: 13691
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:44 pm
Location: 2072; still installing Windows 10

Postby Nethlyn » Wed Mar 09, 2005 10:49 pm

Ashlander wrote:Where abouts are you looking to buy the Athlon XP 3200+ as thats what im wanting?


Ebuyer. 230 in stock when I looked tonight, for

User avatar
DjchunKfunK
 
Posts: 24289
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 4:52 pm

Postby DjchunKfunK » Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:18 pm

I thought I saw an artical warning people not to buy chip only Athlons as they were a bit dodgy and AMD advised people to stick with the retail boxes. Might have been something to do with piracy of the chips if I remember correctly.
As for chip choice you are stuck either way as far as future upgrades go. If you get the XP it is the top chip in that range so you will have to upgrade the motherboard again when you upgrade the chip. If you go with the 64 chip then you will have to upgrade the motherboard again if the sockets chang. So really imo it is down to the performance that you will get out of them.
Check out my new gaming blog Player State. Updated every Wednesday.

Stormbringer
 

Postby Stormbringer » Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:23 pm

If you go with the 64-bit you're completely future-proofed till the sockets change, which won't be for a while. If you get the 64-bit you can get anything from the latest-generation AGP to the PCI-E boards with all the future technological benefits they bring (such as SLI) - better to make the jump.

Mogget
 
Posts: 4107
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 4:23 pm
Location: Ulverston

Postby Mogget » Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:55 am

A bit of a silly question. The answer is obvious.

User avatar
Nethlyn
 
Posts: 13691
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:44 pm
Location: 2072; still installing Windows 10

Postby Nethlyn » Thu Mar 10, 2005 1:02 pm

Athlon64 wrote:A bit of a silly question. The answer is obvious.


If you've got stacks of cash to get everything in one go, of course it is.

Mogget
 
Posts: 4107
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 4:23 pm
Location: Ulverston

Postby Mogget » Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:13 pm

I don't think that the price difference will be all that great if you stick with an Athlon 64 3200+. Therefore, the Athlon 64 is the more logical choice.

User avatar
Trowa
 
Posts: 1411
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: Nottingham

Postby Trowa » Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:50 pm

Buy a 939 board, get a 939 3000+A64, make sure the board is SLI PCI-e too
You'll be upgradeable for a long time with a set up like that

I got myself my current spec, minus graphics card for

User avatar
Adam
 
Posts: 27658
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 7:27 pm
Location: Tottenham

Postby Adam » Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:28 pm

I voted the wrong one by accident. :(
www.thelineofbestfit.com

p.s. - I am wanking as I write this

User avatar
elgaucho
 
Posts: 2678
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:34 pm
Location: Ground Zero

Postby elgaucho » Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:39 pm

What kind of price difference we talking about here Nethlyn mate? If it's not significant, you'd be well future-proofed once better chips come out, else next time you want to upgrade you'll be looking at replacing both the chip and motherboard, as well as any other changes that may come about. an A64 based motherboard might still be useable.

If the price difference is significant, however, I'd likely stick to the 3200, which is still a very good processor.

Kind of been toying with the idea of doing a similar upgrade in recent weeks, but not quite sure what to go for myself tbh...
Fire! Fire! Fiiiiiiiire!
Image

User avatar
Nethlyn
 
Posts: 13691
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:44 pm
Location: 2072; still installing Windows 10

Postby Nethlyn » Fri Mar 11, 2005 6:35 pm

Well, even if Adam voted the right way, it wouldn't have made a difference. If my KT266A board hadn't died, then this thread wouldn't exist and I'd have bought my 3200+ and upgraded within my existing setup. I guess I'll be on the 64-Bit trail.

I've managed to find an A64 chip for sale on another forum, so will be getting a 64-Bit board to go with it, and ordering the RAM, so that I have everything in time for Easter. Once that's all paid off, I can add a 9800 Pro and that's my final upgrade, done, and I'll have the rest of the year to decide whether to flog off the 1800+ and fan.

Cheers to everyone who replied :)

User avatar
Nethlyn
 
Posts: 13691
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:44 pm
Location: 2072; still installing Windows 10

Postby Nethlyn » Sat Mar 12, 2005 11:30 am

All right then you've all persuaded me, I'm going 64 Bit - but now I read in Custom PC that there's three different kinds of memory I can choose, and TwinMOS have followed Corsair in putting their name on a crappy value range of RAM so since I got stung by Corsair, I don't want to get caught out again.

So, all suggestions for the best matched RAM to go with an A64 (2 x 512MB) are welcome, I'll be buying it sometime next week or the beginning of the week after so you've got a few days. -

Stormbringer
 

Postby Stormbringer » Sat Mar 12, 2005 11:40 am

You want "the best"?

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Corsair_XL.html

Second item down on that page.

It's Corsair, but it's not the value range. It's uber.

Next

Return to Technology & Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest